(mostly) life.

I realized yesterday that it’s been two years since my last sewing project. The hiatus was due to work and life (mostly life) getting busy. Every now and then I would think about my Bernina, tucked away in the closet. But I felt okay about taking a break to make room for other important things (family! friends! fitness!).

It wasn’t until last night, when I started on a new baby quilt for a friend, that I realized how much I’ve missed it. When I started sewing in 2010, I was looking to learn a new skill. But I didn’t expect how quickly it would become a creative outlet that nothing else quite fulfilled in the same way. And how much I would miss it.

It feels really good to be back at it. I’m working on a baby quilt for a dear friend who I’ve known for more than 20 years. Here’s a sneak peek at the project in the works. The fabrics were purchased from The Workroom in Toronto – a few are from Sarah Watt’s Cotton & Steel collection called Sleep Tight. Those sleeping unicorns get me every time.

Leave a Reply

